Go Back  

DIY Electric Car Forums > General Forum > Chit Chat

Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2008, 07:45 AM
JRP3's Avatar
JRP3 JRP3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Central New York
Posts: 1,812
JRP3 is on a distinguished road
Default AMP Motorworks

Interesting. Conversion of a Saturn Sky with impressive numbers, (if they are real), for 25K plus the car.
http://www.ampmotorworks.com/index.html
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-24-2008, 07:55 AM
joseph3354 joseph3354 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 630
joseph3354 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: AMP Motorworks

we already had some info dug up on that,lexus emailed them waiting on a reply i think?

http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums...ad.php?t=14066
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:05 AM
gottdi's Avatar
gottdi gottdi is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,211
gottdi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: AMP Motorworks

I'd steer clear. Sounds to good to be true with the current price of lithium batteries. Heck the car with a gas engine alone costs that much and you already know that a conversion costs plenty. If it were advertised at $40,000 it would be more believable than the price given. I'd be more likely to say scam. The economy is tight and if they can get as many dolts as possible then they have all they need. I'd pass the word to stay clear until they can prove otherwise. No phone number to give a call? Only email? Mmmmmm.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:13 AM
joseph3354 joseph3354 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 630
joseph3354 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: AMP Motorworks

i am not saying they are legitimate,but at the very least they are a registered business.contact them if you like.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:23 AM
gottdi's Avatar
gottdi gottdi is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,211
gottdi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: AMP Motorworks

Google the address alone and you get this:

Shooting Star Electronics
11103 Deerfield Rd
Cincinnati, OH 45242
Phone: (513) 984-8376
I am going to contact them but for now I have an email out to them to see which is their current address on Deerfield road.


AMP Motorworks has no phone number, only an order form. That is a BIG RED SCAM FLAG. It's easy to get a fake registered name. For a scammer it's worth the few hundred bucks to do so then bilk you out of $10K down payment and never make good on the promise and then say they are out of business and they shut down never to be seen again. How many have already sent in their $10K? God I hope no one.

Last edited by gottdi; 05-24-2008 at 08:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:40 AM
joseph3354 joseph3354 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 630
joseph3354 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: AMP Motorworks

i just spent a few minutes on the phone with one of their techs(apparently also an investor).told me that they are still doing some testing,hope to get the car to the track in the next month and shoot some video.promised to post it on youtube.told me the vehicle has a dual motor direct drive.i didnt ask much about the batteries other than where they were from.(taiwan)the fellow i spoke to was originally from pennsylvania so we had a little common ground.he sounded genuine in his descriptions of what they were doing and what they hope to accomplish.performance of the car at this phase appears to be what they are trying to improve.they are just under 6 seconds 0-60 time and they want better.they are apparently trying to get the turn around time for customer conversions down as well,right now its about a week and they want 36 hours.all in all i'd say wait for the videos and see what they have to offer.

edit:it appears they have several facilities.even though they are a small company.when he answered the the phone i had to ask if he was with ampmotors and his reply was"this is one of them".
another edit.he also said that due to the turnaround time they were not quite ready to convert customer cars.once they get the time down they plan to do it.(why don't i get all this info down on the first try? )

Last edited by joseph3354; 05-24-2008 at 09:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:54 AM
gottdi's Avatar
gottdi gottdi is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,211
gottdi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: AMP Motorworks

I am still leery of the company claims and will remain so until they provide a real vehicle with full 100% Electric lithium powered drive for the claimed $25K conversion costs. From what I gather it's a DC powered vehicle. If I were truly professional and wanted to provide a video of the conversion process and drive so a prospective customer could view it I would not be putting it up on youtube. How tacky. I'd make a full movie video and send copies to anyone who wanted one and I would make an excellent copy available on the site for anyone willing to download a large move to watch in high resolution. I can make a much better movie than what you can see on youtube and still be considered a small movie. I do it all the time. Youtube sucks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:55 AM
joseph3354 joseph3354 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 630
joseph3354 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: AMP Motorworks

he only said he would put it on youtube because I asked him to do it.the video he said they plan to shoot is for customer orientation.

edit:i failed to ask if it was a dc or ac conversion...my bad.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-24-2008, 09:57 AM
joseph3354 joseph3354 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 630
joseph3354 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: AMP Motorworks

i wish i could remember to put everything into one post(getting old sucks!memory failing!).in my discussion with the fellow from ampmotors he had said that they really were not ready to go public with the car.but a local news station caught them driving it so they had to. again i am not saying buy this car or not.just wait and see what they do.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:54 PM
JRP3's Avatar
JRP3 JRP3 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Central New York
Posts: 1,812
JRP3 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: AMP Motorworks

EVeryone is talking AMP:
http://www.teslamotorsclub.com/elect.../1184-amp.html
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Share or Bookmark this

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by NuWiki v1.3 Beta 5 Copyright ©2006-2007, NuHit, LLC
Zoints SEO v2.3.0 by Zoints & Computer-Logic.org

Ad Management by RedTyger