DIY Electric Car Forums banner

budget ?

971 views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  desiv 
#1 ·
hi everyone.this is a great site.my name is jason and live in san diego cali.im just getting into thinking about converting a car.i got interested in the ev due to WHO KILLED THE ELECTRIC CAR.i saw it like a year or so ago and was amazed.i pulled it back out and thought how can i do it.well i found this forum and havent been sleeping much since then(i dont sleep that much anyways).some of you might shake your head at me cause i also have a 1951 chevy car w/ a v8 in it.im into olc custom cars,but i want something to take my kid and wife in to school,work and do little odd short drives.ive done a lot of the work on my 51 chevy.i have a chance to get a donor pretty cheap.i would like to keep my budget under $5000.i would like to get 40-50 miles if possible and at least do 65mph so if i want to take my son to the zoo or beach.are there any kits that might help.or am i gonna have to fork up more money.thanks for any input.

jason

#2 ·
I'd check around www.evalbum.com as well. There's a lot of real world info on range.

I'm still building mine but from what I can tell, that's tight.
If you're not counting the cost of the donor car, you're talking parts and batteries.
If you were talking 25-35 mile range, I'd say it's possible depending on the donor car, small car. You could probably do that with a $1000 or so pack of batteries, leaving $4000 for the conversion. Again, no experience. I've been looking at the kits and the statements from people on evalbum for similar cars, in my case, a VW Beetle.
I'm shooting for something similar, but with a 25 or so mile range and 25-35MPH average speed, 40+ max is all I need.
You can do better in range with more batteries, but that brings up your cost. Also, the cars that are a better choice for more batteries are generally heavier and require a few more batteries for that.