Building from the ground up..... - DIY Electric Car Forums
Go Back  

DIY Electric Car Forums > EV Conversions and Builds > Technical Discussion

Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-18-2007, 01:14 AM
Administrator

david85 will become famous soon enough
Default Building from the ground up.....

I am still a newbie here, so please be gentile, I hope this is the correct forum for this discussion.

I am planning to build an electric car from the ground up, the idea is to combine as much of the best technology as possible and I'm hoping to get some imput, ideas, or just opinions. The idea is to sell these cars, if the prototype is a success, and there is interest in it.

The solectria sunrise seems to be the closest example of what I have in mind, and if it ever becomes available as a glider, I would definately consider using it as the platform.

Structure

I want this car to be as light as possible, so composite is the preffered material. For cost reasons, carbon fiber will not likely be used for the entire structure, but instead will be used in structurally stressed areas (its my understanding that the sunrise was built with this in mind), although if cost permits, I will use more carbon and kevlar. I also will try as much as possible to use foam core double wall construction. The idea is to use high impact foam in areas like doors, pillars, fenders, and bumpers to act as impact protection, foam has a unique ability to absorb energy in a controlled and consistent manner, but it will also keep wind noise down (engine noise will not be a problem ). I am also considering adapting a mustang fastback replica f/g body to custom chasis, I thought of using a kitcar body, but I am after a four seat car with a hard top. I want opinions here, would you rather have, classic muscle car, or arodynamic cruiser?

Drive system