DIY Electric Car Forums banner

Electric Miata, my 2nd EV conversion

129K views 109 replies 18 participants last post by  Aboveliquidice 
#1 · (Edited)
Well I just bought a 1994 Mazda Miata for my next EV project. I am reusing parts from my last EV project, the Leadwing.

http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58378

For those not familiar with the project it was a 1987 Honda Goldwing trike that I converted to electric mearly to learn and act as a stepping stone for this project. That project was based on some very good, but old 24V AGM aircraft batteries that I got a really good deal on. With 196V and 880amps available from the pack and only one small steering wheel the performance of the bike was predictably scary. All the local drag strips prohibited trikes so I was never able to see what I could get on the 1/4 mile. Anyway, this winter the parts from that project were harvested to go into the Miata. I had been scouring CL for cars for many months till I found this one. I was considering my 1969 bug but it is so original and such good shape I couldn't do it. Considered another bug, a fiat spider, and some others but there is an awesome aftermarket for the miata. Throw in disc brakes, great handling, reasonably safe and the fact that I could get one in good shape for $1300 and it was the final winner.
The project's goals in no particular order are:

1) A fair weather only car
I will commute in about 2-3 months during the summer. I car pool with my wife and as a school teacher for the other 9-10 months out of the year in our prius. Top down driving means no worrying about heat/AC.

2) Range of 35miles at 75mph down to 80% DOD