explain clutchless shifting - DIY Electric Car Forums
Go Back  

DIY Electric Car Forums > General Forum > Chit Chat

Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-24-2008, 10:21 PM

mof4000 is on a distinguished road
Default explain clutchless shifting

I am obviously a novice at this ev converison but am determined to have one up and running by next spring.. I am studying everything i can get my hands on as well as scouring the internet. I just have one simple and i mean simple question about a direct drive without using a clutch/flywheel etc.. What exactly are you keeping on the transmittion and how does it shift without the clutch etc...? please help.. thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-24-2008, 11:24 PM

Manntis is on a distinguished road
Default Re: explain clutchless shifting

Quote:
Originally Posted by mof4000 View Post
I am obviously a novice at this ev converison but am determined to have one up and running by next spring.. I am studying everything i can get my hands on as well as scouring the internet. I just have one simple and i mean simple question about a direct drive without using a clutch/flywheel etc.. What exactly are you keeping on the transmittion and how does it shift without the clutch etc...? please help.. thanks!
Some keep the clutch, some just shift at the proper RPM like you can do on a regular manual car.

As for keeping the transmission, it's about ratios. If your motor RPM is, say, 2,000 and you're going direct drive, you're turning your driveshaft at 2,000 RPM - which may not be desirable given the torque or speed you're attempting to attain.

Keeping the transmission allows you to keep a reduction ratio.
Old 05-25-2008, 05:57 AM

DVR is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by mof4000 View Post