DIY Electric Car Forums banner

New Company Help!! Startup here in NJ

19K views 33 replies 11 participants last post by  JRoque 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi, My name is Steve and I from New Jersey just about 5 min from Philadelphia. I am a Special Education Instructor at a Trade High School and assist in the Pre-Engineering Shop. I not only help the Special Ed Students but I interact with the regular Ed students. I have always been talented with the mechanics of cars and motorcycles and I LOVE being able to help the Pre-Engineering students learn mechanical engineering.

Anyway, a few sophomore students of mine started their senior project of creating an electric go-cart here is their WiKi WesTTechEV so this gave me the jump start to work with a few graduated and current seniors that have the same interest in EV's. So one of my last year seniors and I purchased a 1990 Mazda Miata and we have removed the engine and trans. and are in the process of removing the gas tank (not easy).

We decided to make this a Demo Vehicle for a local conversion company. We would take in customers vehicle to be converted and convert it to EV. Though this may not happen for another year until we convert our first 'customer' car we have the ambition but alas not the start up money. We are committed to use the best quality parts for the customer for long term use and reliability. I have contacted AC Propulsion but they were not even interested in talking to me. I therefore will be piecing the parts together from research of what to use as far as Motor, Transmission, Batteries, AC, power Steering etc. A few of the seniors are experienced from our Electronics Shop so I am happy about their help and their possible permanent employment.

I understand that I have a lot of hurdles yet but here are my main stopping points and hopefully someone here can help me out. So here are a few things someone can help me with.