Noob considering EV conversion - DIY Electric Car Forums
Go Back  

DIY Electric Car Forums > EV Conversions and Builds > All EV Conversions and Builds

Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-26-2012, 01:10 PM

JohnFM3 is on a distinguished road
Default Noob considering EV conversion

So my noob status comes from my lack of knowlege in the EV arena. My experiance in fabrication I feel is strong backed by my Jeep builds.

I am looking for information to help me make a decision on if a EV is a possible solution for my transportation needs.

I am a Washington resident (which of course is not flat) who lives 50 miles away from work. A large section of my driving (35 miles) is done over hwy 18 at speeds of 65 an 70mph. The rest is 40 an below. In order for me to beable to consider full electric, I need to get a 2 seater to get 125 miles round trip (min) an 150 miles prefered.

My thought is start with a Datsun 510. My wife auto crosses a 72 with a VG-30 an I feel confident in my ability to build from one. As they are considered rolling bricks, I may consider the 240z as a more arero dynamic car. Main reason for though on the 510 is my ability to get it below/around 1000 pounds with Engine an Drive Train removed as well as the aftermarket parts community.

The other thing I am noticing from what I am reading is that I should really consider a 120v system to reach the speeds desired. Is there a controller which can run dual sources? Example being 72v Battery source an some from of Generator for when I need to hit the 70mph speeds?

I do plan on finding the lightest Man Tranny made an running that. Datsun/Nissan if at all possible. Hopefully a OD tranny. Also considering 2.73:1 or 3:05 rear gears at most.

Further questions I am having a hard time figuring out...
*Why would I consider an AC system?
*Is there any good colaberative source for drive train components including information such as weight an ratios?