DIY Electric Car Forums banner

SCiB battery information?

25K views 36 replies 16 participants last post by  evpower 
#1 ·
It appears that Toshiba created some wonderfully powerful batteries back in 2007 according to a few articles I have found online.*

For example -*http://www.greencarcongress.com/2011/11/scib-20111117.html

I can't, however, find any information on how/where/if these batteries actually exist or are available to the public.*

Can anybody offer some perspective on this product? *Does anyone think this information/product will be available for purchase anytime soon? *Is it too new to be reliable?

I am a bit of a noob and am trying to plan a conversion on a classic American car. Obviously we ate all looking for the best/most effective batteries, but is haven't heard or seen these mentioned here.

#2 ·
they are super expensive, and difficult to obtain.
to get them you would need to buy them from a schwinn tailwind bike retailer.
The batteries are 24 volt and 4.2 amp hours. They are made of 10 Toshiba cells, and have 6,000 charge cycles. Max continuous discharge 15 amps, peak less than 5 sec 30 amps.
http://www.toshiba.com/ind/data/tag_files/SCiB_Brochure_5383.pdf
the pack is 675$

Lets say you wanted to make a 96v pack capable of 500 amps...
4x packs to get volts, x 33 packs to get the amps (continous), so it would cost you 89100$ to power a good motor. or half that if your willing to use its peak, but that is still quite a large amount more than you would pay for the usual suspects of lithium battery.

they are also used in some EV cars supposedly, but i cannot find any parts vendors with replacement battery pricing.

#3 ·