DIY Electric Car Forums banner

switching from PB-6 pot box to hall effect throttle

7K views 19 replies 3 participants last post by  EVfun 
#1 ·
I have one permanent magnet motor controller but I have both a PB-6 and a hall effect throttle.

Can either throttles be used in the motor controller? Or are some motor controllers compatible to only one of the two?

I think wiring the batteries to the controller and to the motor is simple. It's just the throttle input that I'm not too familiar with.

I'm a bit new to electric vehicles and I'm starting on my first EV project.

Please help

#3 ·
well, it's a China unit which I am trying out.
72volts, 400amps for a DC Permanent magnet motor.

the manufacturer did give me a user manual but it seems to lack a few labels (with the diagram for the Hall effect throttle) and I can't seem to contact them now.

basically there is an 8 pin socket but only three wires connected so I am assuming that the 5 other pins don't have any function. Well, this assumption I am not too sure about.

the pins with wires available are the first three (3) on the right side (from top going down.)

like this
OO
OO
OO
OO

I know where to connect the positive (+) and negative (-) of the batteries. Also same with the motor.

But as I mentioned I am not yet sure how to wire the PB-6 pot box.
Can I just play with these wires and figure it out by trial and error? Or would it not be safe for the motor controller?

I think that I may be able to wire the PB-6 pot box by following this diagram
Except that it seems to use the upper left pin with doesn't have a wire available. I am not sure if the manufacturer really left these empty on purpose OR if I have to add by myself the additional wires for some of the pins.

Technical drawing Text Plan Diagram Floor plan

But with the Hall effect I am not sure since the pins to be used are these

OO
OO
OO
OO

and the lower right pin currently does not have a wire available in the socket.