Using a forklift motor, and choosing a good one - Page 17 - DIY Electric Car Forums
Go Back  

DIY Electric Car Forums > EV Conversions and Builds > Electric Motors

Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-05-2008, 07:10 AM

JRP3 will become famous soon enoughJRP3 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Using a forklift motor, and choosing a good one

I'm no motor expert but it looks like it might be a 440 volt AC industrial motor, and not a good choice for an EV. I could be wrong though
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-05-2008, 08:40 AM

major has a spectacular aura aboutmajor has a spectacular aura about

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucket View Post
Would this make a nice motor for a light conversion ?
My car is a 1975 datsun 100A (weighs 650 kg = 1433 pounds) and for my transportation I would need max 70 km/h (44 miles/h)
Thanks, could get this one really cheap

note: don't think its a forklift motor, don't even know where it comes from ?
Hi bucket,

Yeah, it might. Hard telling how big it is. But the way I read it, 440 volts on the armature and 100 or 200 on the field for 7.5 hp at 2200 rpm. What would you use for a battery? For a controller? Running motors at lower voltage than the nameplate gives you less power. The norm seems to be to run a higher than nameplate voltage. You need to put together a package you can afford and live with. A motor, battery, charger, controller and transmission. Just getting a cheap motor isn't enough. It might break the bank to get the rest of the system to match it.

Regards,

major
Old 06-09-2008, 01:12 PM

TelnetManta is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to TelnetManta Send a message via Skype™ to TelnetManta