DIY Electric Car Forums banner

Yamaha Majesty 250 conversion

34K views 43 replies 8 participants last post by  jaheen100 
#1 · (Edited)
I have been riding electric 2-wheelers since 1992, converted 2 cars, already own an electric motorcycle scooter, but this will be my first motorcycle conversion.
Land vehicle Vehicle Scooter Car Motor vehicle

I had a new Quanshun 100V 8kW (nominal) hub motor laying around so I thought I had to do something with it. :)

Other parts I will be using is:
30pcs (96V) CHL 50Ah Li-batteries.
Sevcon Gen4 Size4 max 350A controller.
Mini-BMS
DC/DC 300W
TCcharger 1500W

It will be some weeks before I get all the parts but I will soon start with the 2 most difficult things, the first is to remove the engine and weld brackets for the new rear swingarm. Secondly I have to find space for all the batteries and weld together a box for them.

See less See more
#4 ·
Well, finally I've got the time to start for real. Taken the scooter apart and it seems it should be possible to find space for the batteries, battery boxes and the other stuff. Also located a nice place for the Sevcon controller where the old cooler used to be.
Removing the old motor will add lots of room.
An advantange with hub motors...

Auto part Engine Motor vehicle Vehicle Car

Games Indoor games and sports Recreation Number

#5 ·
First is to remove the engine and weld brackets for the new rear swingarm. Secondly I have to find space for all the batteries and weld together a box for them.
These 2 should be done simultaneously.
Design the new swingarm and brackets to accommodate the battery pack.
You might have to place cells beside the swingarm where the muffler was for example then the swingarm bracket would be narrow and reaching far forward, the swingarm itself could be very long reaching forward to where the riders feet are.

#9 ·
Well I have bought 30 cells and will start with that. The top speed will be around 110-120km/h.