New Motorcycle and builder - DIY Electric Car Forums
Go Back  

DIY Electric Car Forums > EV Conversions and Builds > Electric Bikes

Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-09-2011, 05:53 PM

Spider-man is on a distinguished road
Default New Motorcycle and builder

ok. I will start by saying that my name is Gabriel. I am a college student in the Texas panhandle, 23 years of age, and I am seriously considering converting a 1980's (I think) Honda Goldwing to electric.

before you ask why, the price was right ($400 and the engine is "froze.") I might be able to re-sale the engine as a candidate for rebuilding... is that plausible or even worth trying?

anyways. I was just curious what you guys can tell me about my build. I have a 20-lb 115v 7.6 Amp Dayton Ac motor. from the research I have done, the volts is what keeps you from getting higher speeds. (also, i found the motor unused at a garage sale for $15) it is rated at 1/2 hp.

next, since I am using an ac motor, i will need an inverter. I would like to find an inverter that works with at least 48 volts (because of amp draw) if not more. Do you know of any with a high voltage? even if it is 200v, i don't care bc I am building my own battery pack. I have at east 300 lithium ion cells at 3.2v and 2 Ah each, so the total watts will be the same for any set-up.

that being said, I will also need a charger for the batteries. I would like one that will charge it completely in 8 hours, However, I don't want to buy a charger more suited for a car if I can keep from it. (remember, I'm just a college student)

Help me please.

One last thought: I know I'm new, but I do work for an electronics repairman so basic electric concept are understood, I just need some guidance for the rest.

Any wisdom is appreciated as long as name-calling isn't involved. (if I am wrong in an idea or concept I am willing to be scorned though.)