DIY Electric Car Forums banner

Kelmark GT Solar Series Hybrid

26K views 69 replies 16 participants last post by  Kernel Panic 
#1 · (Edited)
I have been in and out of this forum for about 3 months researching and I thought it was about time that I started my own build thread. Bear with me as this build will be slow. I am a 30 year old mechanic for a pharmaceutical industry also a Navy Reservist. I am a believer in sustainability and using resources efficiently and responsibly. I was a Diesel Mechanic for the Navy Active Duty for 6+ years and modified cars as a teenager.

The project is to make the most efficient car with respectable performance, range, and looks. To do this weight is my enemy. I found a light sporty car now I’ll need to trim the fat even more. This project will not be done until 2013 for many reasons. It is a project, a have a family, and I have a job so balanceing time is important. Also the availability of the 144V AC controller and the price of the batteries push the date out to then.
  • My skill level with auto mechanics and fabrication is above average.
  • The range (75-85miles at 70mph 75%DOD hybrid) (50-60miles at 70mph 75%DOD EV)
  • The level of performance you are hoping to get is <15s 0-60
  • Budget $25,000 + tax breaks + sponsors + friends
The Donor Car

Kelmark GT fiberglass kit car on a 78 VW chassis (Ferrari Dino Replica) This car will be built for local car shows and car audio shows.

I was unable to get the exact curb weight before starting but a stock VW beetle weighs approx 1800lbs and this car is likely 300lbs less so my guess is 1500lbs starting weight. Goal Finished Curb Weight <1600lbs

Drag Coefficiant 0.34
Frontal Area 21.9 sq ft

I see that the stock curb weight of a Kelmark is 1700lbs according to the blueprint. My revised finished weight is to stay at around 1700 lbs which means I need to find additional ways to reduce weight.

Modifications include