How much torque can my transmission take? - DIY Electric Car Forums
Go Back  

DIY Electric Car Forums > EV Conversions and Builds > Electric Motors

Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2012, 06:36 AM
crashedup crashedup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 66
crashedup is on a distinguished road
Question How much torque can my transmission take?

Ok , im converting my 91 g60 volkswagen corrado.
So ive decided to go with performance before range.
Im going to put in a kostov 11" alpha but I was wondering if my transmission and clutch could take the massive torque from the 11"? Could my stock trany and clutch handle me flooring it? I was also thinking about putting a tdi tanny in there instead of stock, because its designed for higher torque motors.
I see many conversions that keep the tranny but remoove the clutch! Why is that?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-24-2012, 07:35 AM
Yabert's Avatar
Yabert Yabert is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,076
Yabert is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How much torque can my transmission take?

Interesting question... But another one for you: do your tires can take all the torque? If the torque isn't apply to the ground, the torque don't pass in the tranny.

It's hard to say if your tranny will took 280 lbs-ft of torque with enjoyment, but some modified ICE Corrado produce more torque than that... But I'm not sure how well!
My 02A transmission in my Smart come from a G60 (ATA code) and it take well 170-180 lbs-ft..., but it's 100 lbs-ft under the capability of the Alpha at 1000A.

Oh! and if you need performance driving, keep the clutch.
__________________
My Smart Fortwo high power! 38 000+ EV Km
http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums...ion-51472.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2012, 07:43 AM
marc02228 marc02228 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 245
marc02228 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How much torque can my transmission take?

The corrado is front wheel drive, so it should be pretty complicated if not impossible to get the power to the ground. But that's just my opinion..

I thought about that car as donor, too. But decided against it because of FWD.
If I'm wrong, please tell me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2012, 11:56 AM
somanywelps somanywelps is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 432
somanywelps is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How much torque can my transmission take?

This is the million dollar question.

I wound up googling until I found the rating for mine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2012, 12:38 PM
crashedup crashedup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 66
crashedup is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How much torque can my transmission take?

Well I think i found my answer,the o2a from my G60 is around 160lb-ft of torque. But the o2j from a tdi or vr6 is much higher suposedly! So I think I will try to find a tdi tranny in good shape, maybe put a race clutch on there just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2012, 12:25 AM
TomA TomA is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 270
TomA is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How much torque can my transmission take?

The torque rating for an automotive transmission is probably a continuous rating, or at most, its a rating based on the onset of torque that's likely with an engaging clutch or torque converter buffering the input.

The real problem with an electric motor is the rate of torque you can inadvertently put into the driveline. You're going to set that in your controller, provided you have a parameter for it. If you dump 160 ft/lbs onto your transmission input shaft at zero RPM within a few milliseconds, its very likely going exceed both the maximum torque rating of the unit, and its strength. If not the transmission, then something else, like the coupler or CV joints.

Slow that down to a rate of, say, 250 amps/second, and the transmission (and the drive axles) will no doubt last longer. That's what you're going to want to look after and experiment with.

Its also a good reason to keep the clutch in a high-powered application. It will damp the onset of torque from the electric motor, and should be the thing that lets go first. Think of it as a fuse on the drive train...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2012, 06:42 AM
Yabert's Avatar
Yabert Yabert is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,076
Yabert is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How much torque can my transmission take?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crashedup View Post
maybe put a race clutch on there just in case.
Absolutely! Try to find a clutch rated for at least 300 lbs-ft if you think put 1000A at K11 Alpha terminals.

I have a 02J tranny at home coming from a VR6. I don't use it because the bellhousing is different from four cylinder VW engine. I would be happy to trade it for your 02A.... Have a spare transmission in my case is a good idea.

250A/sec is really sluggish when you expect good performance. My Soliton 1 is programed at 2500A/sec and the acceleration (the response of the throttle) is way better than 1000A/sec for example.
__________________
My Smart Fortwo high power! 38 000+ EV Km
http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums...ion-51472.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2012, 07:39 AM
crashedup crashedup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 66
crashedup is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How much torque can my transmission take?

Ok great thanks for the offer! I will be starting this summer, hey yabert i had some questions for you, concerning the paper work to get the vehicul registered with the saaq, how did you proceed? You can PM me if you want.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2012, 09:13 AM
crashedup crashedup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 66
crashedup is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How much torque can my transmission take?

Im not to shure i fully understood what you were trying to tell me. Did you say i should keep my g60 transmission or swap it for a tdi tansmission?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-25-2012, 10:45 AM
crashedup crashedup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 66
crashedup is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How much torque can my transmission take?

With the tdi gearing i think i should get a higher top speed right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Share or Bookmark this

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

 
Support DIY Electric Car
Sponsors

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Ad Management by RedTyger