Converting 2000 Audi TT - DIY Electric Car Forums
Go Back  

DIY Electric Car Forums > EV Conversions and Builds > All EV Conversions and Builds

Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-22-2012, 09:03 AM

EV Myself is on a distinguished road
Default Converting 2000 Audi TT

I have been lurking for 6-8 months getting ideas from everyone’s projects. I finally have taken the plunge and started digging into my 2000 Audi TT.

Your skill level with auto mechanics and fabrication: I have been working on and rebuilding cars for over 25 years. I have done everything from a '50 Merc custom to an RV-8 kit plane.

The range you are hoping to get: Looking to get 100 miles on a charge, not that it is needed I have less than a 3 mile commute.

What level of performance you are hoping to get: Not looking for a race car but want performance about the level of the original are. The original car was 180 hp.

What parts you've already considered: Planning a Warp9, Soliton1 and 50 LPO4 180Ah cells.

I have started a Blog to document the build and post more pictures.

Alan
Cedar Rapids, IA
http://audittev.blogspot.com/
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-24-2012, 06:24 AM

mharvey is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: Converting 2000 Audi TT

Is this a Quattro? Im guessing at 180 hp it's not a turbo. I have an'01 Quattro Roadster at 225hp that I b9ought to convert. So fun to drive and ran so well I drove it ICE for a few years (hanges head in shame). I was thinking of going AC and the Quattro does pose some interesting design challenges. Heavy car out of the gate so strip whatever you can where you can. That will help a ton in your 100 mpc goal.

Good luck on your build. I'll be eagerly watching your progress.
Old 07-24-2012, 07:08 AM
Administrator

skooler is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Converting 2000 Audi TT

good start!