DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
.Hello everyone I am new to the ev world and have been doing a lot of reading but I have some questions I have not found the answers for.

I want to make a hybrid car. I have an Audi TT 225 Quattro and have been playing with the idea of removing the rear drive shaft and haldex system (and tune out the haldex from the ecu) to replace it with an electric motor. So my questions are:

I know that the warp 9 hv goes up to 5000rpm but I would like to mount it driectly to the rear diff so is there is a way to rev it higher safely?

Since its going to be a hybrid will 1 warp 9 be enough for the load (about 3000lb) or should I go with 2?

Thanks

·
Registered
4,905 Posts
What about the rest of the hybrid system... where does the power come from for this motor?

I know that the warp 9 hv goes up to 5000rpm but I would like to mount it driectly to the rear diff so is there is a way to rev it higher safely?
Why would it need to run faster? Do you know the ratio of the gearing in that rear final drive (diff)? Unless it has a high reduction ratio, 5,000 rpm would be more than enough... and a VW/Audi Haldex usually has a near 1:1 ratio.

Since its going to be a hybrid will 1 warp 9 be enough for the load (about 3000lb) or should I go with 2?
What are you expecting the electric motor to do? Unless you are running only the electric motor, it isn't accelerating the whole 3,000 pounds. Also, especially after replacing a Haldex clutch with a motor, controller, and battery, 3,000 pounds for the vehicle with passenger seems very optimistic for a TT Quattro.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3