DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm studying the opportunity to install an electric engine into a 20-meters sailboat. The required nominal power is 100kw, with 150kw peak.
I think I've almost resolved the design of the propulsive part (384V batteries, 200kw AC motor with a M-Force DC5000 or a Tritium WaveSculptor 200 controller), but I now need some tips for the generator part.

In normal use, this sailboat should run 100% electric (it should use the propeller only for leaving/entering the harbor), but it may sometimes have to run longer without sailing (no wind / too much wind). So it needs a diesel generator (1 x 100kw or 2 x 50kw... this second option is preferred) to provide electricity to the propeller's engine for long trips.

For amenagement reasons, the diesel engine can't be directly connected to the propeller (like for a "classic" diesel installation), and will be in boat's stern.

I'm stuck finding an alternator/controller fitting my needs (384V / 130A DC on a 3000-rpm diesel engine). Does anyone has a link to such product ?

Thanks

·
Registered
308 Posts
Any 230V 50kW 3 phase industrial motor should do that, you'll need a regen capable inverter too of course.

Why don't you call ABB, Baldor or any of the other motor/inverter manufacturers and talk to their application engineers.

Alternatively use the motor inverter parts selected for propulsion for generation as well.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your answer. I though it could exist cheaper solutions than using a regen capable inverter used in regen-only mode.

I'll soon contact the inverter manufacturers, but I would like to have an idea of the price of a such system.

A DC -> AC inverter without regen is often cheaper than one with regen. I think than a AC -> DC converter should be even cheaper. I'm just surprised that it's hard to find product references on Internet.

·
Registered
780 Posts