DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!
I am wondering where to find a BMS for a 144v pack. I am using 40 cells in series, so I need to monitor every cell right? Do I need a BMS with 40 inputs? I am fairly new to battery management systems and I am wondering how to make my battery pack safe and reliable.
Thanks!!!

·
Registered
6,200 Posts
I am wondering where to find a BMS for a 144v pack. I am using 40 cells in series, so I need to monitor every cell right? Do I need a BMS with 40 inputs?
Yes, 40 inputs. BMS usually come with inputs in sets such as 8 or 16, so you get the one with at least 40 channels and leave the extras unused.

There are debates about how necessary cell-level monitoring is, but every production EV does it, which I think is a strong hint. ;)

You also need the BMS to be set up for the specific voltages for your cells (LiFePO4 voltages are significantly lower than other lithium-ion chemistries, for instance).

·
Registered
6,200 Posts
There are debates about how necessary cell-level monitoring is, but every production EV does it...
Really? Name one
Every production EV has a BMS which monitors the lowest level of parallel cell group - that's why they have a BMS tap wire to each group, typically connected to BMS slaves through a multi-pin connector on each module. To name one, just name any EV. Is this just a misunderstanding because you think that I meant something else?

I should note that a group of cells connected in parallel (not in series) are effectively a single cell, so cell-level monitoring means one monitor point for that group. And I'm referring to voltage monitoring, not temperature (which is normally monitored at only one or two locations per module).