DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I’ve been lurking on here for a while. I’ve been wanting to do an EV conversion and its taken a while to find a car that I felt I would want to drive once the conversion is complete. I’ll admit from the go that, while its nice to be environmentally friendly, I feel that the finished product will have to be something that I want to drive. Some style, a bit of power and a certain “cool” factor (at least in my own head).
This car does it for me.

Skill level with auto mechanics/fabrication: I’ve restored/rebuilt a couple of cars as a teenager/early 20s. Some Minis and a Land Rover. I have minimal fabrication experience, but that’s going to improve significantly with the rust I’ll need to remediate in this.

Skill with electronics/tech. I’m a software developer working with embedded systems. I’ve got good basic electronic skills as well as being comfortable with auto electrics.

Range: I live in Santa Ana, Southern California. I’d like to be able to drive to Los Angeles and back without being too concerned about range. That would mean around 120-150 miles.
Performance: The original car had 55hp and a factory stated top speed of 71mph. 0-60 of around 30 seconds. I’d like to be able to drive on the freeway (so 80mph max). Cruise at ~70, which puts me in the slow lane around here. Some power will be nice but I’m not planning on racing it.
Budget. I figure I’ll have 15-20K in the EV components once its done. Plus restoration costs.

This will effectively be a resto mod – but one of my goals is that at a 5-10 ft range it shouldn’t be apparent that anything significant has been changed. I want to keep the essence of the car and its style.