DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

· Registered
660 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A 1951 Studebaker that has been in the family since new is up for grabs. I may pass on it, I may restore it, I may try and convert it to electric...I'm very new to Studebakers, and they seem to have gone through many changes around this time, so I'm just trying to figure out what might be possible...

Does anyone know of any conversions that have been done? I'm very interested in whether the transmission was kept, or if someone figured out how to put something like a Tesla motor in the rear. The car is body-on-frame, but a Tesla rear subframe is way too wide in track, and I'm not sure how I would fit a motor in something like a Miata or BMW subframe without having to re-engineer the suspension. Ditching the transmission leaves more room for batteries, and since I'm aiming to build a long-distance road tripper, this might matter materially.

I'm hoping someone will come out with a live axle with an electric motor in place of a diff, but they only seem to exist for heavy industry or direct-to-OEM sales...

· Registered
660 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The Lexus transmission is huge, though. I think it would stick out into the engine bay significantly more than, say, a Hyper9 equivalent attached to the factory 3spd gearbox.

· Registered
4,772 Posts
Closest I can think of is Icon's Merc...that was pretty much keeping the body and building a new chassis for it. Tesla modules stuffed everywhere, and the Stude is a smaller car if I'm not mistaken. The big bucks way to do it. Then again, one in good shape doesn't deserve a half-assed low-budget conversion.

The X-frame (I think cars of that era had those), if it has one, may complicate a tunnel solution and hacking up the tunnel to get more width is sacrilege if the floor isn't rusted out.

I'd see about transplanting a Ford Ranger EV rear end into it...