DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Original spec : 300cc 4 cylinder single stroke, 13hp, 4 speed chain drive, 55mph top speed, curb weight 780lbs

Hi guys. I recently purchased a 1956 Isetta which needs a full restoration. The engine and transmission needs a rebuild so I’m weighing up the option of an EV conversion instead.

I’m new to this game so will need plenty of advice. I’ve restored a couple of cars in the past but don’t have any experience with electric vehicles.

Here are my expectations :

Top speed : Around 35 mph
Range : Around 45 miles
Load : Maximum 2 passengers so + 400lbs

I’ve been looking at everything from Tesla battery packs to golf cart running gear but I’m not sure where to start. I like to keep things simple so some sort of package deal or everything from a single supplier would suit my needs.

I’m limited on space so realize Lithium will be the best battery option.

Any suggestions to point me in the right direction will be greatly appreciated.

Budget : The cost to send off my engine and transmission for rebuild will be around $5000 after replacement parts, so I’d like to be around this price point for the conversion if possible.

Located in Canada so getting parts from USA would be the logical choice (once the border opens again!)

I’ve read through a couple of builds on here but they're 10 years old so not sure how relevant the information will still be.

Many thanks.

iPMBlzp3TyeUY9X2v4n3mQ.jpg

·
Registered
1,288 Posts
Hi Niall
These are fascinating and wonderful little cars and it's great to see you thinking of converting.