DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I'm starting my adventure into the EV world with a 1971 VW Sand Rail Buggy (No motor):

Thus far I've been reading and watching a lot about EV conversions, but haven't had hands on experience yet (A big part of this project is a fun way to learn about it). I am a metal working hobbyist (Welders (Stick, MIG, and recently TIG), grinders, bench and belt grinders, a mini lathe (a starter/learning lathe), horizontal metal cutting bandsaw (Currently restoring this beautiful bastard, and then I can start work on the Buggy)), etc. I have experience and access to a bunch of tools to shape and fabricate. I am new to automobiles in general, I usually restore tool machinery and other metal items.

I have the basic concepts down for EV conversions/EVs in general (I know I'll need an electric motor (AC or DC), controller, contactors, batteries, etc.), and I am currently reading DIY Lithium Batteries by Micah Toll. If y'all have other suggestions for threads/books/videos please let me know, I'd love to learn more.

As of current, my plan is to completely strip down this Buggy and start cleaning everything up, starting with the frame (Checking welds, rewelding as needed, sanding it down, and then prime it (To prevent rust while I modify it for EV conversion). It'll take some time to do all of that, but while that's happening I'd like to start gathering recommendations for parts for the conversion. I like going to salvage/junk yards and if that's a cheaper route then even better (I like taking things apart and restoring it all... I think its the OCD in me or something).

Parts: What I do have with the purchase is:

- Sand Rail Buggy Frame (Can be restored)

- Steering: It turns, so I'm assuming it'll work for the build but it could definitely be cleaned up.