DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi and greetings from Finland!

I've started my 1974 BMW 3.0 CS project couple months back. Goal is to have about 250km range and all the power that you can get :)

I don't have any background on building cars nor mechanical expertise. But I have 20 years of experience in coding, so that should help with maybe some parts of the project :). So, I'm going to rely my friends shop quite heavily and help of all component sellers and of course this great community.

Bought the car from Germany without seeing it in person. Received 3 weeks later. I had a guy in Germany so he helped to inspect it and to do the deal. Car had not been used since 2001. But it was in quite good condition for a 45 year old rust bucket (as the Karman built cars are known).

Bought a salvage battery pack taken from 2017/12 Model S 75D, and a small drive unit from the same car. The car had 5000km in odometer. Some kind of fire it had. The hood had a hole just in front of the drive. But while shopping, got tempted for P85D large drive unit from the same shop and got that too. It's like 220kW or ~400kW of power .. easy choice :)

We extracted the modules from the pack with a help from my friend and my son. It was interesting to find that the seller had actually painted the "hump" in the front of the battery, because it was burnt. Luckily 75D does not have any modules there. All modules had a good charge, exactly 22,1v per each module.