DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I've been browsing this forum for several years, been inspired by many of the people on here including MoltenMetal and Baratong because of their work on Triumphs, and joined a few months ago when I decided to embark on my own project. I have minimal experience working on cars, but know a fair bit about the electrical side of things, have worked with plenty of small electric motors and controllers before, and am motivated to learn. My goals are to create a fun, weekend car that can last me for years to come, as well as to learn hands on as much as I can about electric cars and the systems involved since I'm less than two years out of a computer engineering degree and hope to work in the electric car industry in the near future. Luckily I know several longtime mechanics who have been giving me guidance and help as needed. About six months ago I picked up a 1974 Triumph TR6 without an engine in it, but with a solid body and a frame with minor rust. Since then have stripped all the parts, removed the body shell, sandblasted all rust off the frame, and am about to repaint it before putting the body shell back on. I also just got a Vitesse Mazda transmission kit to install and am going to get help rebuilding the differential. Once the body shell is on, and the transmission and diff are back in I'll be ready to start converting it.

Here's my current plan:
For major parts I plan to use:
- A NetGain Hyper9 motor
- 5-7 Tesla 5.2kWh battery packs from HSRMotors (Still need to build mockup cardboard batteries to test fitment)
- An Orion BMS 2 (either 36 cell or 48 cell)
- An Elcon 3.3kW charger (I may replace this and the DC-DC converter with a Stealth EV all-in-one 3.3kW charger and 1.0kW converter, but curious about everyone's thoughts)
- An Elcon 1.0kW DC-DC converter