DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first build. Here is what I have planned.

Vehicle- 1980 300CD w123 body

Motor- tesla large drive unit in the rear replacing the dif, keeping the stock independent suspension, custom axles to mate to stock hubs

Batteries- 2 full volt packs

Charger- Volt

DC DC conv- Volt

Motor controller- I was going to order EVBMW but they are out of stock, might go with 057 or stealth ev instead

Charger and DCDC controller- thunderstruck EVCC

Bat heater- Volt

Coolant pump- Volt

Coolant valve (if needed)- Volt

Electric Vac pump- not sure

Electric PS pump- not sure

my only ? thus far is the BMS controller. I have a full Chevy Volt BMS with the pack but can't find anyone who makes a CAN that will interpret and send info to the EVCC. Any suggestions are appreciated.

So far I bought a salvage Chevy volt at auction for $2500 and have taken all the components and wiring harness off (as well as lots of other Volt parts). The battery tests good, full voltage. Working on making a test board with all the charging and 12V components to get that working before ordering the motor.

I have a full auto mechanic shop, metal working tools etc. Good at wiring, not savy at coding/CAN (yet?).

·
Registered
459 Posts
How do you plan to control all those Volt components? As you've noticed with the BMS, these proprietary parts have to be hacked and programmed. I'm not that familiar with the Volt, but I believe that is true of every other component as well (although something like a coolant pump can at least be easily made to turn on and off). My expectation is that they're all controlled by a secret CAN bus protocol, and that none of them will work unless hooked up to a computer that understands them.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
For the bms, the simpbms will read Volt slaves.
For the dcdc and charger, the thunderstruck EVCC will talk with those.