DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I just bought a 1980 Garelli Supersport Moped and I was going to use this project as a stepping stone before I go to convert a car. I have a lot of free time over the next month and was hoping to get a jump on this project before school starts again in the fall. (I'm a teacher).

I was hoping someone would point me in the right direction with any calculators that can be adjusted for use with a 49cc equivalent moped instead of a car.

I am looking at motorcycle conversion threads but I haven't seen anything that would have a moped equivalent.

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
I was hoping someone would point me in the right direction with any calculators that can be adjusted for use with a 49cc equivalent moped instead of a car.
What are you looking for?

In terms of equivalents, it's best to check your local laws as they'll be all over the board.

For example, in my jurisdiction, the laws haven't caught up to account for electric, so, all I tell them is that it has zero ccs of displacement (no pistons, no piston displacement, nonsensical term to apply to electric) and, the conversation ends there. It's approved.

Some jurisdictions will say things like, 49cc is equivalent to 2hp, so, as long as your electric moped is under 1500 watts (2hp) it's okay. Some will specify if it has to have a limiter, or if the label spec is acceptable. A limit would be active an refuse to supply more than 1500 watts. A "1500w motor" might be spec'd for all kinds of things. For example in RC use, 1500w is generally right at the absolute max before you blow the motor up. In industrial applications, it's rated to handle 1500w continuously, 24/7, in the worst possible heat next to a boiler, with all it's cooling surface blocked by dust and grime, for 50 years, with a 300% overbuild on top of that if it's mission critical... and you can easily get 25x that out of it.