168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I'm new to the site and planning to convert a 1984 VW Rabbit

I have no experience with car mechanics

Things i want

-60-70 mph
-at least 30 miles per charge
-all parts (except car body) less than $5000 if possible

I've been looking at electro automotive's conversion kit for VW rabbit and it is priced at like $10000.

If someone around here has done a similar project, it would be great to see their parts.

I've been looking around and understand the basics, but i feel lost when it comes to getting parts.

Thanks,
Jake

·
Registered
778 Posts
Jake
Give these folks a call:
http://e-volks.com/kit3.html

Their 120 volt kit is less than $4700.00 and you could talk to them about
fabricating a coupler and adaptor plate for your Rabbit.
You can get EGC 8volt Energizers at Sams Club for about $1100 for 15 batteries.
You should be able to do the whole conversion for less than $6500.00

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Doesn't the kit come with batteries? or are you saying i should get the sams club ones in addition to the kit.

Also isn't it cheaper overall to not use a kit.

I live near an EV parts retailer, so i could avoid large shipping costs if i bought the parts individually.

Thanks for the quick reply

·
Registered
778 Posts
Kit does not come with batteries but even adding in the $1100 it's still way less expensive than $10,000.00

Print out their parts list and take it to your local EV parts retailer....see if they could do better.

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
I was thinking about going with the warp 9 motor, however if i go with the kit it comes with ES-31B Series Motor 90 HP Peak, how do they compare?

G

·
0 Posts