DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I purchased a 1993 Volvo 240 wagon a few years back as a project car, and have been casually reading what I could find regarding how to convert it to full electric. I've owned several Volvos in the past, and I currently own a 2013 Volt as a daily driver. The 240 is currently waiting in the garage.

Professionally, I'm a systems engineer / enterprise architect, and have spent years of my career as a programmer along the way. For relevant hobbies, I enjoy repairing and modifying cars, as well as repairing and modifying on electronics. I've done a bit of arduino programming along the way as well.

I've been reading build threads here, trying to get a basic build list in my head for this type of conversion. This is FR layout with a fixed rear axel. My current thinking is something like the GS450h transengine would be on the simpler end, if it fits in the tunnel.

I'll be putting together a build list, and then keeping an eye out for deals as I get closer to a finalized build. I've looked through some builds on EVAlbum as well, but all of the RWD Volvos on there are quite old builds from what I can tell.

I'd love this build to have ~100 of range (or more), be able to comfortably cruise on the highway (~80mph top speed?), and sacrifice as little original functionality of the car as possible (keep the rear seats and the cargo area, heat for the winter).

I'd love to hear build suggestions from the more experienced members of the community. Also, please keep me in mind if there are any parts deals to be had in my part of the country. Thanks!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·