DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello this is my first time on this site and will see how this goes. I'm a high school student and have a 2002 subaru wrx impreza and want to convert it. I want to use the tesla motor from EV west (the motor is rated at 400 kwh, 275-400 volts, and 1,000 amps) and the LG chem 16 cell 2.5kw batteries. I have been researching for some time but still can’t find answers on some things. One being how to wire the batteries together. Should they be put in series or parallel or a combination of both? If both how should the be wired together? I’m also confused on how to charge the batteries once they are wired. I know very little about BMS other than they manage the batteries. What kind of BMS should I get? How do I install them? And what do they do?
And the last question is if anyone sees any problems that won’t work with this kind of build. I know some of these questions are general but it’s just I don’t know much about it is all:) thank you for any information you can give and it will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
It's good that you're doing research. I wouldn't go planning or spending money on anything yet, as many things might not work out the way you're first thinking.

One thing you're mixing up is power and energy. Power is the flow rate of energy. Energy is an amount. If you think about energy as water in a bucket, if you have 5 gallons of water, that's an amount, that's energy. If you have a spigot on the bucket, so that when you open it you're pouring out 1 gallon per minute, that's power, the flow rate of energy, or, how fast you're going through the amount of energy you've stored.