DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've contemplated a DiY electric vehicle build for a number of years now. What I've got is a 2005 2 door cobalt with top end of the engine pulled. This was my son's project car that we haven't done anything with. I'm now thinking about an electric conversion.

Skill level: I would say that I am moderately skilled when it comes to auto mechanics and fabrication. I'm 39 and have wrenched on cars and bikes since I was 16 but not as a profession. My day job is as a senior systems engineer and I have been in IT professionally for 17 years. My welder is a Millermatic 211. I run solid on it with 75/25 argon/CO2.

Range desired: Oh, I don't know. 75 miles would be nice. 175 miles would be great. It's 2018...175 miles isn't hard to attain is it?

Budget: I'm not broke but this would definitely be a budgeted project executed over time. I've got one and soon to be two kids in college, 2 Camaros we show with the OK Camaro Club, motorcycles to maintain for our B.A.C.A. efforts, and the usual bills such as mortgage, insurance, car payments, etc.

From my online research, this car has a 5-speed Getrag F23 manual transmission. Has anyone picked up one of those Warp9 or Warp11 electric motors on eBay and mated it to one of those transmissions? Is this a feasible idea? Any guidance and tips are greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,364 Posts
Range desired: Oh, I don't know. 75 miles would be nice. 175 miles would be great. It's 2018...175 miles isn't hard to attain is it?
Range is a function of dollars and weight carrying capacity of the car. Important to understand that 75 miles is a lot more affordable than 175 miles ;)

Can you really live with driving the car 'just' 30 miles away from your home? Do you have a rapid charger within 60 miles of your home?

Budget:I'm not broke but this would definitely be a budgeted project executed over time.