DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Basically, is this project too insane to be worth my time? I love my Mini, and I love my i3, why not marry them? I love the idea of doubling the power of the Mini and adding maybe just 10-ish miles electric range to a rear drive system that could be used basically as a performance boost, or just a local getabout with pure electric. With just basic mods the Mini already overwhelms the front tires (even with sticky Pilot Super Sports). Been thinking about this for way too long and now some things have materialized where I want to know if it's even remotely possible. I'm a pretty experienced mechanic on ICE cars, have done all my mods and maintenance on the Mini (which is a lot), helped a friend with a motor swap, etc, but my only electrical experience is building speakers, guitars, computers, and a tiny bit of Arduino/RasPi stuff. Designer by trade so I'm good with CAD...