DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
541 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All:

I'm looking around for ideas on how to charge a 20S pack of Molicel P42A's. I'd like a bit of adjustability as overall pack voltage would be 82-84 V. I'm considering a couple of power supplies in series but would appreciate any ideas or suggestions. The project is presently using a PbA charger for a 72V nominal system but I don't want to rely on the BMS to cut off the charge. This charger says it goes up to 88 VDC but I haven't actually done a 100% charge yet to see where it starts cutting off. I'd be looking for 5-10 Amp charge rate.

TIA

·
Registered
149 Posts
If you like DIY, both of these work well.

Depending on the amperage you need, Meanwell makes a variety of PSU's that work well in series. I've been using the SE-600 24v PSU's in series since 2016 as my main 82v charger. I'm in progress building a much larger charger from 8 of them. This will get me increments of 12S, 16S, 20S, 24S, 28S, 32S and 36S. These PSU's lack current limiting. When you load them too heavily, they shut off. I've been using a bank of resistors as my current limiter. This does make some heat, but it's simple and cheap and easy to implement. This is 16S/66v and 20S/82v chargers made from these PSU's. You'll notice that they both have a resistor bank on them for current limiting. At about $75 per SE-600 PSU, this does get expensive, but then you'll also get about 25 amps charge current too! At $300, there's not a lot of good options for a single charger that delivers 25 amps and 82v. This is about the cost of an SE-600 PSU based 82v charger.