DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I'm an engineering student from australia and i have challenged myself to build a three-wheeled electric gokart for my final project. being a student, money is definitely a factor, I have found a place to purchase 6x12V 12Ah for around 110 AUD which is around 75USD, it is a good deal but i want to make sure that lead acid is good.
I have done as much research as i can justify as I am in year 12 aswell, but I'm stuck on the power source.
I have purchased This motor, its rated for 3000w, 72V and it says 50A. I assume that means that under load it pulls 50 amps of current, meaning that if I have 50 amps of battery, in an ideal situation with no loss i would be able to run it for an hour.

My main Problem is that I think lead acid batteries wont be very good because the maximum speed will decrease as the battery is used.

I don't have much reference, my family has a kids electric scooter, it has a small (450w give or take) electric motor, and when powered with two 12v 9ah lead acid batteries, it goes well (I'm too big for it now, so it goes much slower) but the max speed decreases pretty fast and I hear that that's the voltage decreasing as the battery depletes.
I also hear that this isn't a problem for lithium batteries as they maintain voltage until they are nearly dead.
I'm trying to figure out my estimated top speed, speed decay rate, and any other ideas or info. I'm new to batteries and any help would be GREATLY appreciated. if you have any questions, ask and I will reply as soon as possible, although my time zone is weird. thanks

·
Registered
148 Posts
without spending too much time writing a long reply, here are my quick comments