DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm new to these boards, and to the whole EV scene in general. I was a diehard ICE guy for a while, but I've seen the intoxicating power and performance of these vehicle and have fallen head over heels for these things! The 300zx is notorious for its insanely difficult to work on engine, but it's a stunning car to see on the road. It's a car that I've always wanted to own and drive, but the inability to really work on one made me sceptical of ownership.

I've done a fair amount of reading and watched a ton of videos to fully understand how these electric swaps go. I'm still not fully clear on all the tiny details, but I am still in the planning phase of this swap.

I'm an electrician by trade and an avid gearhead that has done most car maintenance items, minus internal engine work. My goal is a daily driver to get me to and from the city (100 miles a day) and something fun to drive as a whole.

Car: Nissan 300zx 2+2
Motor: Tesla Model S Large drive unit
Battery pack: Tesla Battery modules (16) 375v
Transmission: 300zx 5 Speed
Charger: Unsure whether to use the Tesla one or something else
DC/DC converter: TBD

I plan on doing something similar to the Tesla powered Audi, but retaining the stock transmission for shorter gearing to hopefully shred some serious rubber. Any and all information to read and get a full understanding of all the components needed would be awesome. Thanks for reading!

·
Registered
5,067 Posts
That's an interesting project. I have no idea where you are going to put 16 modules totalling 254 litres (9 cubic feet) and 400 kg (880 lb) plus mounting and housing, especially while retaining the stock transmission and final drive, and the shaft connecting them, and having the motor in former engine bay... but it will be interesting to watch. I assume that the back seat will be sacrificed.

·
Registered
392 Posts