DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Premium Member
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new at this, so be gentle.
I"m seeing 800 volt cars on the market. Has anyone completed an ev conversion with an 800v system?
I'm doing my homework on the details of configuring a battery pack at 800v.

·
Registered
2,984 Posts
Everything, including HV cables, contactors, inverters, traction motor choices, are a big step to less available (more expensive). Many public chargers are only good to 500V, though that may change.

Pioneers are the ones who get arrows in their backs, as the saying goes....while it sounds wonderful on paper, it's early days, imo.

·
Premium Member
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the reply. Emrax is helping source the components. I will be outsourcing the high voltage connections. As I understand, public chargers will still work on 800v systems, correct?
Also, I'm aware that this is dangerous work that should be left to professionals and I will be hiring someone to handle these. My big question is...Can existing batteries be configured to an 800v pack?

·
Registered
7,950 Posts
As I understand, public chargers will still work on 800v systems, correct?
Not directly. If the charger is, like the vast majority of public charging stations, only capable of 500 volts, it can't charge your 800 V battery at all. How would a 500 volt source overcome almost 800 volts of battery voltage to push more charge in?

There are two solutions currently used in production vehicles:
Reconfiguration
GM's Ultium system (just going into production for the GMC Hummer EV) arranges the battery modules into two equal banks, connecting them in parallel to charge from common charging stations (at up to 400 volts), and connecting them in series to charge from 800 V DC chargers. It's not clear in the reports that I found which configuration is used to operate the vehicle.

Conversion