DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to help my 85 year old uncle realize one of his bucket list items while there is still time, to drive this car at least once. He has been working for over 30 years to slowly build an electric car using the GE EV1-B controller that he purchased in 1984. The car chassis was hand built:

It was finally finished recently and is in a machine shop in Ludlow Massachusetts. When we attempted to power it for the first time it failed. Overview of controller assembly:

I have attempted to study the schematics and all available documentation. In my distant past I have a degree in electrical engineering so I should understand all documentation and pretty much understand how things should work.
Using the “General Electric EV-! B, C, D Panel Replacement parts Lists and Troubleshooting/Tune-Up Instructions” manual, I noted that with SEAT and BRAKE switches bypassed and KEY, FWD, and ACCEL switches appropriately set per 3rd bullet point in Symptom section 1B there is not BV at L3, L5, and L7, just minimal voltage. It appears but not confirmed that the new never used but 30+ year old EV1-B controller is defective and am at a loss on how to proceed. Any advice would be appreciated.
Paul Traceski

·
Registered
3,141 Posts
I see that nobody has replied to your post from late September, so I hope my reply bumps it up so you might get some advice. This seems like a cool project, and perhaps there is a quick and easy way to get this EV running. The SCR type controllers are rather old technology and may not be very reliable, so I don't think repairing it is a good option. It would help to know details of the motor and the battery pack - then we might be able to recommend a compatible controller.