DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all! I am VERY new to the EV game. I am a huge motorsports enthusiast in all forms and I dig the technology alot. I have been playing with the idea of converting a planned hill climb car into an electric hill climb car, but don't really know where to start. My ultimate goal would be to keep the drive line and remove the engine and replace it with a motor. My intentions are to keep the clutch, I have done a bit of research and have found mixed feeling on it.
I would love any and all tips and tricks you guys have learned!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
We need technical, performance, and vehicle details, not a merely a story or a decision without explaining it ("keep the clutch")
Oh shoot I'm so sorry!!
Let's try this again,
I have a 2007 Honda Civic ex, 5 speed manual.
I'm looking for something that's going to be a reliable conversion, and work with the factory clutch system and factory drive line (I want to keep the clutch to act as a last ditch disconnect in case the motor gets stuck on). The car would be staying front wheel drive. I'm not looking to make insane power right away, I'm just looking for something intuitive, and reliable. The goal is eventually to make this thing a hill-climb/ time attack machine but I need to get started somewhere. I apologize for any stupid questions in advance as I am brand new to all of this. Thank y'all!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I didn't need I'd need to know all of this to convert my car to electric. Does everyone else on this site know all of this information too or am I just screwed without it?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Well shoot okay. I might have to do some research.
I know generally I want it to behave as a daily driver to begin with just to get the ball rolling. And from there kick it up a notch at a time

·
Registered
3,036 Posts