DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone!

I am very excited to have joined this community! I am a 2nd year Mechanical Engineering student. This year I am starting a project that is aimed at building an electric vehicle. I have always shared the passion for this subject, but never actually went far enough as to learn all of its technicalities.

I am here to tell you that I have started a blog, in which I will be sharing my journey of learning about electric vehicles and how to build them. Since I am very new to this field, I thought I could start a blog, which would help me share what I have learned and create a small platform for people to correct me or give any type of feedback!

If you are interested, you are more than welcome to visit my blog. Feel free to comment on my mistakes or tell any suggestions that you have. In fact, I would very much appreciate any constructive criticism.

Thank you!!
https://eproject2017.wordpress.com/

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
You are starting from a low base, knowlege and experience, but you are smart and young so you will learn quickly.
As others have said, start small to learn the basic principles with minimal cost outlay before you comitt to a large project.
If you want something very relavent technically and socially, i would strongly suggest you build an Ebike ..convert a bycicle to electric power assist.
You can learn and experiment at minimal cost , as well as have a very usefull form of transport arounf the city.
All the elements of an EV are there , modern motor design, direct drive hub motors, complex multi phase motors (6 phase on some !) and controls, absolute latest battery technology developments, battery building, battery management systems, charger technology, gearing effects, etc etc.
Believe me, some of the smartest minds in the EV world were nurtured on EBikes.
Another valuable learning resource for you would be the Endless Sphere site forums.