DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I was wondering if someone could give me some pointers on my ADC 9". I'm using it in a garden tractor for pulling. I am not pushing a ton of amperage yet (550 mid track about 650 peak right at spin out), but on my first several passes it seemed to be arcing, possibly excessively.

Here is the video of me pulling it, If you look around my left foot, you can see some intermittent arcing as I go down the track (more towards the end):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GFexW6m4vtE

I pulled the brushes and 6 of the 8 seem okay. However, I'm not exactly sure what I'm looking at. I am no expert with these motors. I could tell you anything you want about an ICE motor tho... Pictures are attached. The two questionable brushes are held next to each other. The pic with the single brush looks like the other 5 (6 good?? brushes total).

Also attached is some pics of the brush rigging, and the commutator. I measured my timing and came up with an estimate of 10.15 deg. advanced. (the two sharpie marks are the two centerlines). Looking at the comm (not touching it!) it appears to be just fine.

This motor has about 400 miles on it when I had it in my Ranger (144v) Running a Curtis 1231C 500amp controller.

I think my problem lies with the brushes. In order to make weight for the next event I will only be running a 120v pack instead of 144v. I think this would help eliminate/lessen arcing as well. However, I still think it should have been fine with the 144v and advanced 10 deg. Let me know what I should do with the brush situation. I have until the 2nd week in Feb. to get everything back together.

Thanks in advance!
JulsJunior

Attachments

·
Registered
2,494 Posts