DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yeah, I'm a noob here so maybe there is a thread that you can point me to.

I'm in the planning stages of doing a car conversion and since I live in the Houston area there would be about 6 months that I need ac of some sort. I'll probably be using an RX-7, Miata, or MR2 so I won't need tons of cooling. I've seen some 1.5 hp motors for running the ac compressor and power steering pump. Do these work or is that inadequate for this work load?

Also, do I just build a new bracket system for mounting the existing compressor and pump so that the existing plumbing reaches adequately?

I have a small machine shop (drill press, cut-off saw, MIG welder, etc.) so I could custom-build the brackets.

·
Registered
372 Posts
Hey retro- there aren't a whole lot of guys running A/C, so you're kind of on your own here.

I would imagine one of those small Ametek tape drive motors would be adequate. Can't say for sure though.

And of course, if you want to fill it with ice every so often: http://www.instructables.com/id/Portable-12V-Air-Conditioner---Cheap-and-easy!/

As far as power steering goes, I've never thought that it's really necessary. Especially on cars in this size range. Heck, I drive my truck without it.

Good luck!

·
Registered
44 Posts
Like greenflight says, alot of guys don't run it because of the extra weight and or battery drain. Those that do, either run the compressor from a small electric motor via a v-belt like this guy http://www.geocities.com/electric_honda/civic/civic3.html
or they buy a dual shaft drive motor like this http://www.evparts.com/shopping/product_details.php?id=536&product_id=1123 and install a pulley on the other side to drive the compressor like this guy http://www.saabrina.blogspot.com/ who is actually running a/c and p/s off it.