DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

My name is Moritz and just getting started with an EV conversion project. I would like to convert a van and was wondering if a Jack & Heintz starter for a Pratt & Whitney 1830-75 Radial Aircraft Engine -24 volt would be a suitable electric motor?

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hello,

I'm new to the world of EV cars, but I've spent some time around aircraft. That being said, I would have to say that I would not recommend using an aircraft starter motor for an EV car.

Here's the first two reasons that pop into mind:

• Aircraft starter motors are intended to have a duty cycle. That means they work like mad for a few minutes, but then spend the rest of the time enjoying the ride.
  • Any starter motor that came from a P&W radial engine is going to be as old as the hills. There are a lot of better motors out there.
I hope I haven't ruined your plans. Good luck with the project.

·
Registered
926 Posts
Hey there!
From what I've heard the car might be a little underpowered with that as a motor. Mind you, it depends on what you're looking for in an EV.

What sort of top speed are you after? That's a big decider in the motor selection process.

G

·
0 Posts