DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all
While firkling around on the net I came across the Hyundai/Enova units. On a whim I bought one with the idea of converting my old (91) toyota townace.
I am very new to this game so I hope you are all feeling benevolent when it comes to answering stupid questions if I can't find what I want from what is already on the site.
My aim is for electric drive with onboard charging from a tesla turbine driving a bank of alternators. This may well prove to be a ridiculous idea so could change dramatically on the fly, but you have to start with a plan of sorts, don't you.

·
Registered
426 Posts
Hi all
While firkling around on the net I came across the Hyundai/Enova units. On a whim I bought one with the idea of converting my old (91) toyota townace.
I am very new to this game so I hope you are all feeling benevolent when it comes to answering stupid questions if I can't find what I want from what is already on the site.
My aim is for electric drive with onboard charging from a tesla turbine driving a bank of alternators. This may well prove to be a ridiculous idea so could change dramatically on the fly, but you have to start with a plan of sorts, don't you.
yes its a rediculous idea :)
but dont take that as a critisism, rather as something to save u from wasting a lot of time :)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've no idea how this got here, it was supposed to be in Chit Chat!
Thanks for the response. Which bit is the ridiculous idea?
Contemplating EV-ing a townie or carrying an independent charging system for places with no access to external charging?

·
Registered
426 Posts
carrying the charger, youll find that u just wont ever need it :)
and the extra weight will limit your range by a really small amount.
you could convert the car first and then afterwards if u need a portable charger you can add it :)

·
Registered
3,983 Posts