DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
alembic7
Hi from Arizona, I am a retired Architect and Designer with good mechanical skills.
Recently purchased my 56 Porsche Outlaw Speedster Replica and hope to make it EV.
I see EV West has a kit for VW and Speedsters but it seems quite expensive.
Retired means fixed income sooo...I am researching now: how powerful a motor ??
Best source and type of batteries ?? Buy a kit, or assemble the various pieces separately? etc, etc.

Anyone who has done a VW or Speedster Replica please chime in ...

·
Registered
807 Posts
I think that EV West kit is reasonable considering the value you get out of it. Not only it includes the motor/controller kit, some $5000 value, but you also get the additional components already packaged AND you get support from EV West. Perhaps if you were doing your 10th project, you could optimize and cobble something together out of leftover parts, but if you want to do it right the first time, conversion kit like that is like gold.

Here is the motor kit alone through another dealer (click on 650A) :

·
Registered
4,095 Posts
alembic7
Hi from Arizona, I am a retired Architect and Designer with good mechanical skills.
Recently purchased my 56 Porsche Outlaw Speedster Replica and hope to make it EV.
I see EV West has a kit for VW and Speedsters but it seems quite expensive.
Retired means fixed income sooo...I am researching now: how powerful a motor ??
Best source and type of batteries ?? Buy a kit, or assemble the various pieces separately? etc, etc.

Anyone who has done a VW or Speedster Replica please chime in ...