DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1993 Chevrolet s10
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well since this last year has been a total shit show and I’m bored out of my mind. Have been in the middle of swapping a v8 into my s10. But I’m bizarre and despise being like everyone else so I thought why not an EV conversion?

Only issue, I know nothing about EV swaps.... but I’m a maintenance mechanic with a good basic understanding of electric and motor controls.

So I’m thinking of doing a DC forklift motor and keeping my s10’s manual transmission. So I found a 36/48v 18.4 KWh forklift motor. I can build an adapter plate, so I guess is this motor a reasonable rating?

I haven’t looked into batteries, but I’m thinking of using a 400 amp Curtis motor controller? Am I on the right track here?

and said POS-10

·
Registered
257 Posts
Hey, I am looking forward to seeing your build! You can check out my thread for lots of ideas of what not to do :). It sounds like that forklift motor should probably be fine - I gather that the ratings are very conservative, and people have put some serious power through them without too much trouble. If you have not at least skimmed the thread on forklift motors, I would say its worth a few hours of your time to go through it. You will probably need to advance the brushes to run a higher voltage, which I am sure some of the other members on here will have some info about. As for a 400 amp controller, it might be enough for a little run-about. I seem to recall those curtis controllers were fairly low voltage, and you might not be able to get much of a top speed with them. Hopefully someone else can chime in with some real-world info.

·
Registered
5,750 Posts
You will probably need to advance the brushes to run a higher voltage, which I am sure some of the other members on here will have some info about.