DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Im new to EV scene & about to start my first EV conversion,
Reading through the forums I gather there does not seem to be a decent cruise control out there, other than the old ICE system with a vacuum servo or stepper that hooks up to the throttle pot via the old cable method.

As a home hobby business (non profit) in conjunction with fellow Iveco over-lander I make replacement Diff Lock Controllers for Iveco 4x4 trucks as the standard Diff Lock computers have many shortcomings.

It occurred to me I can use the same processor and a simple redesign of an existing PCB used for the Diff Lock controller to connect to any pedal pot & hall signal to make a Cruise Control for just about any EV (or ICE for that matter) , with the normal on off acc resume buttons & a brake switch .

for interest here is the Diff Lock controller
http://www.goingbush.com/afam.html

I will certainly be building my own cruise control for my AC51 / Curtis 1239 using the AC51's own speed sensor, & if it tests and performs as I think it will I might produce a small quantity of them if there is a enough interest.

·
Registered
307 Posts
I want cruise, I also want the option of adjustable on the fly speed limiter. Say you're in a 25mph neighborhood. I want the 0-80% range of the pedal to limit the car to less than or equal to 25. If o go greater than 81% it would override and go faster. There are a few other features I want too. I don't know how ambitious you are, but I'd be willing to share.

Sent from my STV100-1 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #3