1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
4 Posts
so i have some welding background and can confidently say voltage has nothing to do with it, my cheapo unit from hazard freight works at about 25V. the current however, is absolutely there, and that IS what matters: my tiny 90amp unit will melt your face without a shield. even though its usually only a fraction of a second, an arc flash from an EV battery will definately leaving you blinking hard. like, worse than when you accidentally happen to glance at the sun or have it reflect directly off a mirror like from a car/whatever

·
Registered
3,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You have a welding background...your "arc flash" at a dozen or two volts has nothing to do with a high voltage arc flash.

A high voltage arc flash is not a spark, as you describe.

Read the article & be informed - your posting shows you're clueless in this area and that you have not experienced arc flash conditions from your cheapass welder or your HV battery.

·
Registered
4 Posts
You have a welding background...your "arc flash" at a dozen or two volts has nothing to do with a high voltage arc flash.

A high voltage arc flash is not a spark, as you describe.

Read the article & be informed - your posting shows you're clueless in this area and that you have not experienced arc flash conditions from your cheapass welder or your HV battery.