DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm reading into the EV topic (I'm no mechanic or electrical engineer, I just like to learn stuff) and there's one thing I don't understand.

From what I've read, the rear motor of Tesla can output from 285kW to 350kW of power, depending on the model. And that motor weights about 31 kilograms.

But when I take a look and AC induction motors from other manufacturers, they are nowhere close to those numbers.

In the evwest catalog, most motors from are several times as heavy, providing just fraction of power. For example the "AM Racing AMR Dual Stack 250-90 AC Motor - Liquid Cooled, Permanent Magnet - Remy" can provide similar power, but weights over 2.5 as much as the Tesla motor.

So my question is - do I understand those parameters incorrectly, am I looking at wrong motors/sources, or is Tesla's technology simply that effective and "cutting edge"?

Thanks for the clarification :)

·
Registered
1,364 Posts
From what I've read, the rear motor of Tesla can output from 285kW to 350kW of power, depending on the model. And that motor weights about 31 kilograms.
The Tesla Model S/X 'small' front and 'small' rear drive units weigh ~90kg and produce ~220kW/~300HP peak.

The Tesla Model S/X 'large' rear drive units come in three different versions ranging from ~330kW/~450HP to ~480kW/~650HP peak. All versions weigh ~130kg.

afaik we don't yet have any reliable figures for the Tesla Model 3 drive units.

You can see the 'small' front and 'large' rear drive units in this video;

·
Registered
4,791 Posts
So my question is - do I understand those parameters incorrectly, am I looking at wrong motors/sources, or is Tesla's technology simply that effective and "cutting edge"?
When specs are tossed around, the difference between continuous and peak power is often skipped. If you compare peak Tesla power to continuous power for another brand, you'll see this sort of discrepancy.