DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, just joined the group. I've had an idea for awhile, and I'm looking for some guidance on whether this is completely unrealistic.

I'm going into my senior year as an electrical engineer, I have an A&P, worked as an aircraft mechanic for the last 10 years. Built multiple trucks/cars, and can custom fab most things.

I have been given a soft approval on building a LS/Tesla hybrid as my senior project, I would be joined by 3 other students. Before I submit my full request and begin purchasing components, I'd like to hear feedback on why this would likely be improbable, if that's the case. We would be designing and building a piggyback ECU that would allow switching between gas, electric, both, and taking the signals to integrate both of the motors together. If we somehow have an extreme success, we'd probably go ahead and build some chassis/interior controllers as well.

I will purchase two wrecked vehicles so we have all components, wiring harnesses, or any sending units from both vehicles to reduce nit picking parts online.
The LS4 FWD will be donated from a grand prix or impala, tesla 3/S for the rear motor.

The chassis that everything will be implanted into will be a 55 chevy pickup. I'm in the middle of swapping an entire C5 drivetrain into a 58 GMC 100 to fund the majority of the project. But net cost I am hoping to spend around 25-35k.

Any advice on why this just is not feasible would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,984 Posts
Hybrids are 20 year old technology - as interesting as a steam powered Tesla. Novelty, but useless.

What's the point of an LS when a dual LDU powered car, like @57Chevy is building, will kick an LS/Tesla's ass every which way from Sunday?

Do a dual LDU for your project. Better, a dual Plaid rear drive.

ICE is dead.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·