DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I am new to the forum and have a general question. I've searched this forum and found multiple discussions on specific projects regarding EV system Fuse sizing, but nothing that addresses a general rule of thumb. Is there a basic formula for determining adequate fuse protection for my wiring and battery pack? I have a system that was packaged for me through an EV parts distributer, and I want to determine how the fuse size was chosen.
I have a hyper9 LV motor, 108V battery pack, Orion2 BMS, Elcon 3.3KWh charger. My system has a gigavac maintenance switch, dual contactors (motor and BMS), and has a 600amp class T fuse (amongst other items of course).
Given that the low voltage hyper 9 can draw 750amps, and my batteries can deliver 3C at 900amps, i guess the fuse can pass higher than rated amperage for short durations. as you can see, i'm no electrical engineer, nor a particularly smart guy, so how did they figure out the fuse size would allow transient current above rating but still provide adequate protection for my wiring etc?馃く
cheers

Registered
The rule of thumb is your fuse should be the weakest link in the system, so it fails before any other component fails. I don't believe delay fuses are appropriate for the systems with programmable motor controllers - the motor controller should limit the current before a current spike exceeding the fuse's rating would be produced. Fuse in that context really is to account for a short circuit either in the wiring, or in the motor controller itself. Likewise there should be no need to account for inrush currents to the motor, motor controller should ramp it up slowly enough that there is no spike exceeding the ratings.

Either way, that's just my opinion. To sum it up: fuse size = min(Imax(controller), Imax(wiring), Imax(battery), Imax(contactor)) - 5%.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·