DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
654 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is the best way to put lugs on the battery cables? I was thinking of using FTZ or similar high quality tinned lugs. Best brand/place to get them?

Method of attachment:

1. Expensive hex crimper.
2. Buy the "fusion" terminals with solder in them and heat them up.
3. $10 hammer crimper.

Ideas and/or experiences? Failures?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,773 Posts
Ruckus I can help you out here. I am a Telecom Power Engineer for all the big boys are they use the best products, tooling and methods money can buy. Basically any battery or power connections are designed to last 30 years.

You want to use Lead Plated Compression Terminals on battery term post and inter-cell connections. The best out there are Burndy. CLICK HERE TO SEE LIST EDIT: click Uninsulated > Terminals > Lead Plated to see product list

You want to use a tool made specifically for the terminals that when used will make a LISTED COMPRESSION. These are usually hydraulic 14 and 15 ton tools either battery operated or some are hand pump or AC powered. You will need to look at the selected terminal to determine which tool is appropriate like THIS ONE and use the proper set of dies.

The other thing you will want to do is use a anti-oxidant compound. When you skin the wire you want to lightly coat the conductors before applying the terminal and compressing it. Then clean the mating surfaces between the terminal and contact surface with a light coat of compound. Here is the best compound ever made. NO-OX-ID A Special

·
Registered
2,217 Posts
I generally use tin plated Magna Lugs and this crimper that I bought years ago (that used to cost A LOT less.)